Royal photographer Arthur Edwards, who has been photographing the royal family for more than four decades, recently wrote an article on The sunin which he detailed the frosty start to his relationship with King Charles, who was the Prince of Wales at the time it began. Recalling a particularly tense encounter with Charles all the way back in 1980, Edwards wrote: “I was driving on a track at Prince Charles’ Gloucestershire estate, Highgrove. I hadn’t joined the Ramblers Union – I was using a public footpath to get closer to home for some big lens shots…” “Suddenly, in the distance, I saw a horseman galloping towards me across the rubber turf. As the mounted figure approached, I could make out a crimson and angry heir to the throne in the saddle,” Edwards continued. He then said, “The prince cried out, ‘What are you doing on my land?’ I replied: “It is not your land. It’s a public path and I’m just doing my job.” Charles answered slowly, “Some work.” To this, Edwards recalled replying, “Well, at least I have a job.” “The prince turned angrily, gathered his reins, and galloped off. One of the officers on duty told me later that they were having a coffee break at Highgrove when the prince burst in, slammed his whip on the table and shouted: “You’re supposed to be guarding me, and Arthur Edwards is on my front lawn!” Edwards further shared. Edwards’ relationship with King Charles remained frozen for a while, but eventually thawed, with the photo shoot claiming they didn’t click until 2004.