Stay ahead of the trend in fashion and beyond with our free weekly Lifestyle Edit newsletter

Stay ahead of the trend in fashion and beyond with our free weekly Lifestyle Edit newsletter

A woman who called her local MP about her menstrual cycle has won praise for her unique method of drawing attention to women’s reproductive health ahead of the 2022 mid-term elections. On October 26, Dara Faye took to TikTok to film herself calling the office of Republican Congressman Mike Garcia from California’s 25th district. In the video, Faye leaves a message for Rep. Garcia after the call goes straight to voicemail. “Hi, my name is Dara,” the recorded voice message began. “I was just calling because I wanted to report irregularities in my period. I also had cramping during ovulation.” “I just figured that Mr. Garcia would be interested in all of this because he supports the Life on Arrest Act,” she continued. The Life at Conception Act, introduced in February 2021 by Senator Rand Paul, would declare that the right to life guaranteed by the Constitution begins at conception. “I don’t know if he’s a board certified gynecologist, I really have no idea,” Faye continued on the phone call. “But I guess if he supports this act, he has a lot of knowledge and I don’t know if I should be worried or not.” “Well, I was hoping someone could contact me, specifically Mike Garcia, so we could discuss my menstrual cycle and ovulation cramps,” the voicemail concluded. “Thanks.” He captioned the video: “Involving my local politicians in my medical decisions.” Faye’s message to the MP received more than 360k views on Twitter after it was originally shared on TikTok. Thousands of social media users praised Faye for calling out political leaders involved in women’s reproductive health issues despite not having a medical background. “Well done!” said one Twitter user. “Millions of women across the country should leave similar messages to their Republican representatives who do not support a woman’s right to make decisions about her own body.” “You’re a genius,” said another. “I have some medical concerns to discuss and never thought to contact my agent. Such a good idea. Doing this tomorrow. I adore it.” A third user wrote: “I think every woman in America should call their politicians and ask them to make their next doctor’s appointment. See if they are willing to help cover the discount as well. You never know until you ask.” Representative Mike Garcia is not the only Republican candidate to take an anti-choice position on abortion. Speaking to The Independent, Faye revealed that she was actually inspired to call Rep Garcia after watching Dr Mehmet Oz, the Republican candidate for the Pennsylvania Senate, share his thoughts on women’s reproductive health. “Abortion should be the business of a woman, her doctor and her local political leaders,” the celebrity TV doctor said during the Pennsylvania Senate debate on Oct. 25. In a separate video posted on TikTok and Twitter, Faye shared a satirical video responding to Dr. Oz’s recent comments on abortion. “Dr. Oz believes that a woman’s medical decisions should be between her, her doctors, and local politicians,” the clip began. “Because every time my husband and I decided to have a baby, we called our local politicians to discuss my birth plan and then see if my doctor agreed. Faye went on to jokingly list all the medical issues she contacted her “local political leaders” about, including changing tampon brands, period cramps, breastfeeding and ovarian cysts. “That set me off,” Faye told the Independent after Dr Oz said politicians should be involved in a woman’s medical decisions. “So I started making a satirical video of how I brief my politicians and ask them medical questions about my period and breastfeeding.” Faye even took Dr. Oz’s alleged advice and actually called several politicians across California about her reproductive health – including her local congressman, Mike Garcia. But no one answered her phone call. “These politicians want to basically control our reproductive rights. They are encroaching on our medical freedom, on our real health,” he said. “And they also don’t want to be there when we have to call them.” After posting her video on social media, Faye was shocked by the viral backlash she received. Now, he hopes it will encourage other voters to take action – both before and after this year’s midterm elections – and call their representatives. “A lot of women and supportive men said, ‘We’re going to call our politicians,’ and you know what? I hope they really did,” he said. “That wasn’t my only phone call, so I hope they do it because it’s at least some, it’s a small form of protest.” Less than four months after the United States Supreme Court voted to overturn Roe v Wade – which legalized abortion in the US nearly 50 years ago – the future of abortion rights is weighing on the outcome of the upcoming midterm elections. Five states – California, Vermont, Michigan, Kentucky and Montana – have issues directly related to reproductive health care on the ballot. If passed, California, Vermont and Michigan could be the first states to guarantee the right to abortion care in their state constitutions. Meanwhile, anti-abortion advocates in Kentucky hope to impose more restrictions on abortion access.